#GirlLove Part 2 – A Collection of Warm and Fuzzy Stories

❤ ❤ Happy Valentine’s Day! ❤ ❤

Dear Chromosome No. 23 XX,

In my last post titled #GirlLove, I wrote about spreading the love – beginning with our own kind. Since I put up the post on Feb 13th, i.e. Galentine’s Day, I included a few memories and thoughts on female bonding and positivity, and here are some more 🙂

 

From Zinky D’Cunha..

I will never be able to pick one because most of my best memories have come with my bunch of girls! School shenanigans, college, work, book club… at every step I met women who can make any day amazing and they never stop to inspire me.
Take the case of this post: The women writing these experiences are some of the strongest I’ve seen and spending time with them is a blessing. You’ll inspire the real GIRL LOVE!
Happy Galentines Day, ladies!

xx

Priyanka (Pink) Payal writes..

Every day that I spend with one of my best girlfriends turns out to be spectacular. I like chilling with my friends more than actually doing anything about town because we so rarely get to spend quality time together.
Like the time I went to stay at my friend’s place and we spent the whole night catching up and laughing at the silliest things, or when I sat with my soul sister at Marine Drive and just stared out at the sea, or every time I Skype with her (and it ends up going on for 3-4 hours!) because she’s not here in India.
I’ve shared every secret with her – happy, painful or sad – and they’ve given me enormous strength to face my demons. Sigh. The world would be a terrible place without my gals. 🙂

xx

Srish Arya reminisces..

Girlfriends are like your mom, boyfriend and mentor, all in one. They’ll chide you when you make stupid mistakes, give you the best advice when you’re in a dilemma and love you more than anything in this world! They’ll get senti when you get married, hate your husband for taking away your precious girly time, but they’ll always be your go-to people.
There was this one day when I was feeling particularly low because nothing around me seemed to be right, when two of my closest girlfriends dropped in and took me to Carter road. We went food hopping (Pita bread & hummus, burrito and dumplings), we gossiped, judged people on the street together, had yogurt, took a walk by the beach and reminisced about college times. And suddenly life seemed good…it felt like things would fall into place and everything would be alright.
That’s what girlfriends do to you. They make your life one giant celebration that you can look forward to when you have nothing else to be excited about! So, Galentines all the way! 😀

xx

Sinister Baloney’s fav memory would have to be..

My 18th birthday! (Actually, 2 days before that!)
I woke up at 5 am and caught a Virar super-fast of 5.30 with a few of my college girlfriends.
I wasn’t very close to them, but we had a lovely time at Marine Drive and I am really glad that they woke up at 5 and bunked college for me!
But that was not the best part of the day!
When I came back home (I was made to come back because one of my friends was a mole!) I was welcomed with the most amazing surprise (you guys nearly scared me to death!)
That was the best birthday I’ve ever had! And it’s something I’m never going to forget!

xx

Aku Agrawal writes..

It’s been more than a year since I’ve known my friends Boo (Khushboo), Divya & Bianca, and we’ve spent a lot of good times together. But the moment Bianca left for Canada, we thought that we might all stop being friends 😦
But what happened was completely the opposite. We became even closer! And closer with Bianca. Not excluding her. We Skype with Bianca as often as possible, and we always make time for it, like today evening.
All of us met at Boo’s place and we had some wine, pizza, some coffee and some juice, and we woke up Bianca and we asked her to Skype with us! And there we were, all of us together again. It was so much more special cause we’re usually Skyping from our own separate homes.
We were talking about everything we could think of, right from work to our lives, just like we were back in college!
We always have these great dinner plans and parties, etc, but this one time, just being there with some pizza and wine, and your best friends – even though one of them is on the other side of the world, and feeling that she’s right there with us – was amazing. It was great, and it’s one memory I will cherish forever! ^.^

xx

A note from Prads Bolinjkar..

When it comes to having friends, I have been nothing but lucky. Friends who have stayed, friends who were not able to stay around but have stayed in touch, friends who may not be in touch on a daily basis but are an integral part of my life. There are just so many people who have been there for me and a part of my journey.
I think this bond is the easiest to form and the most difficult to let go of. It’s the people we choose to be our family and this is the family that also stays by your side without any questions, at any point of time. This is the family who get to see the quirky and insane facets of your personality, it’s the family who lets you be you, and it’s the family who helps you know yourself. It’s one crazy joint family minus all the formality drama.
As Candace Bushnell says in the Sex and the City movie, “Maybe Girls are our real soulmates and guys are just someone to have fun with”. It may sound like a pro feminist quote but it’s honestly been so true for me over the years. I may have met different people and have had multiple girl gangs, but each one is equally special to me and I have had my fair share of memories with all of them. They are my 4 am people, they are my shoulders to lean on, they are the ones with whom I am allowed to do crazy things and it’s not just one person!
All of them have been so pivotal in my life, in shaping a part of who I am and they will continue to be there in every step of my life, big or small, is what I can say for sure.

xx

DJ (trust me, she’s not in the music business) Janvi wrote this and fueled a bunch of memories from school..

A fancy dinner with our friends is just fun and since we are of the so called ‘legal’ age now, getting drunk is even better! All that pretty dressing, with our hair so tamed and our shoes on point, yet I wish someday my schoolies would reunite or we could relive the afternoon meals that we had in school.
Yes, the lunchbreaks.. We were a group of nine! Everyone had their special delicacies. The menu, to be specific, was pav bhaji, tomato soup and rice, garlic bread with toppings, black daal and rice, paneer ki subji, mom made pizza, sandwich, and last and the most favourite – idli and tomato chutney, which was to die for! Where could you get such a vast menu? On two benches and nine chairs.
No 7 star cuisine could make us so happy! Eating happily as the bell rang, not caring about how we looked with braids and ribbons in our hair and the school uniform… It was those 40 mins of long break which brought the 9 of us together, even when we were in different classes due to the subjects chosen. We would eat and laugh happily.
There are many memories, but I still miss eating lunch with my schoolies and I hope to get such a day back. No brewery, cupcake, or wine and dine could ever replace this.

xx

From the desk of Ritz Arya..

So this friend I had an amazing time with is almost half my age, and she lives quite far away. It had been a while since we’d met.
One night we had a conversation. She wasn’t feeling very high and happy in life. We made an impromptu plan to meet at around 11.30 that night. The next day, she travelled to Kandivali – all the way from Vashi – and landed at my place at 8.30 in the morning! We didn’t know how the day was going to play out, but one thing after another, and another, and another, led to such a laugh riot! We decided to take off and go to National Park and met some kids there at one pada. The kids played some pranks on us with some exotic plants! They asked us to press the plant, which opened up like a caterpillar, and we just jumped up high, and the plant fell from our hands because of our reaction. We were laughing like crazy. We saw pumpkins, and bhindi, and these other amazing home grown vegetables. We played with little kids too.
Going ahead to the next village, we bumped into some photographers along the way. They said, “Hey, we’re just shooting some people, and we’d like to know what is the one thing that’s made you happy in recent times”. We got covered on a Facebook page called ‘Colors of Happiness’.
Later, we went to High on Tea for brunch, laughing throughout, as if someone had released laughing gas instead of tear gas, for no reason at all! It was very therapeutic.
There was a beautiful sense of satisfaction after spending 4-5 hours together. We didn’t need to say anything, but we knew that something had really changed in our friendship, and the bond had grown deeper by simply laughing together all day long. We hadn’t shared any deep secrets, not done anything too special. It was just a random day that had changed our friendship, and I love her to bits.

xx

I am grateful to each and every one of you who took out some time to contribute to this post as well as the last. I had the best time reading all of it!

Shout out to all the ladies out there!

Lots of pyaar,

S

 

P.S. Since my posts are incomplete without a gif and I believe that every woman out there is amazing, beautiful and strong, here’s Wonder Woman.

oo9vb

Source: popkey.co

Leave a comment